PETG In elevated heat application for commercial use

• Hello everyone, this is my first post here.

I got into 3D printing through work, I am an Engineer at a company which services just about any machine you would see in a commercial building, HVAC/R, Kitchen equipment, Electrical systems, Cleaning equipment, etc. We take care of it all.

I originally heard about 3D printing from a coworker who needed a 3D model made of a part for a motor so he could get it printed, so I modelled it for him and he showed me the product and I was hooked at that point.

Now here's the next application, A commercial dishwasher with over 2000 individual pegs and I want to print the pegs rather than buy them.

So I specced out a 3D printer, I'm getting the Monoprice Ultimate 2 and I'm buying about 7 KG's of PETG to start out with.

I printed a test peg out of ABS, PLA and now PETG as the material arrived and my main concern was the temperature, the water temperature in the machine gets upwards of 170-180*F so when I got the first Peg I put it through the machine and it actually survived really well, no flex or softening and no surface deform or layer split, it went through a couple of times and come out just fine.

The only problem was that the peg snaps onto 2 rails, 1 for each end and it didn't like snapping on and it cracked the pieces so I'll have to redesign it to fix that.

So I wanted to ask you guys what you would recommend to fix that problem.

Below is the ABS Peg which is how it will be printed but in PETG.

0_1570542751354_Picture 001.jpg

Below here is the original and the ABS one side by side.

0_1570542791717_Picture 002.jpg

Hopefully you guys can steer me in the right direction.

• MatterHackers

@olivero said in PETG In elevated heat application for commercial use: