How do I print multicolor layers using Cura 4.8.0?

• I am new to 3d printing. I have a Creality CR-X dual extruder and am using Cura.4.8.0. I have design that is a block 40mm long by 20mm wide and 7mm height. I want to print the first 6mm height in one color and the last 1mm height (top) in a second color. What step by step setting do I use in Cura 4.8.0 to print the first 6mm height layer in one color and the top 1mm layer in a second color?

• I don't know if you are still looking for details on this or if you, I hope found the answer to your question but I was directed to your message looking for the same information.

Did you get it resolved? Can you direct me to it as well? I'm using cura 4.8 and I can't find any information about it, they even removed the manual from the ultimaker website...

• Global Moderator

This thread is a year old with a question for a software we do not distribute. Now, if you plan on using MatterControl, then we can help you with multicolor layers.

• If you have recently purchased an Ultimaker 3 printer, you may be wondering how to print multicolor layers on it. Fortunately, there are many new features to explore with the new Ultimaker 3 printer, and Cura has been designed to take full advantage of those features. Use one of our guides to help you get started with dual color prints. After downloading Cura, open a new project, and then follow the steps to load the materials and model files.

Cura is an open-source 3D printing software program that works with many types of 3D printers. The software is free and has many benefits, including automatic calibration and a range of pre-tested profiles for beginners. The software also allows dual printing, and supports a number of plugins that allow you to customize the user interface and print settings. For the most accurate and consistent results, Cura can handle multiple 3D printers with ease.