help! what filament should I use?

• Hello
    Recently a friend told me that his car has this problem, a T shape hose has a little fissures from where water is leaking. So he asked me if I could do something about it. Where I am at, the dealership doesn't have the spare part so He have to import it and probably will cost a lot.

0_1569271558138_IMG_20190923_151738.jpg

So I was thinking to 3d print it but I am not sure what material should I use. The temperature of the water passing through this part goes around 20 ° C to ~100 ° C.

Currently I only have PLA but I could buy another filament of different material.

I have a Anycubic Printer that can go:
    Max extruder temperature: 527 ° F / 275 ° C
    Max heated bed temperature: 212 ° F / 100 ° C

Because I am still new to this world of 3d Print, I would like to know your suggestions for printing this part.
    should I even try to print it? or I tell my frind to just import it?

thanks!

• Boiling water (100C) will even soften HIPS or ABS. Nylon might be a good choice. As this is a simple part you could try annealed PLA even though idk how much vibration and pressure you get. Nylon - probably Taulman 910 as its harder or Hobby King CX12 which is pretty hard too would be my first choice though

• MatterHackers

I do not agree entirely with @mpirringer here. The reality is even a Nylon would not be good enough for something like this and the temperatures that can be reached in an engine bay. As I am sure you know, Engine bays can get to an excess of 280-300F
    The material that comes to mind for something like this is Ultem material. Which, is not something that your machine can print and requires a highly specialized machine. Ultem material is actually designed for the automotive category and designed to be sufficient for high-temperature applications.
    ABS or Nylon would likely not withstand these temperatures.

You can take a look at Ultem below: