Struggling with Nylon filament

• I am fairly new to the 3d printing world, purchased my Pulse in February and have been working in Rhyno and NylonG with great success.

However when I try nylon filament I just can't get it right. I have watched the videos, read everything I can find with no success. Garolite plate, glue, no glue, hot plate, cold plate and what happens is you turn you back on your printer. Thought I had it when I printed the calibrating cube so tried the spaceman, print head 260, plate 69 degrees, setting for NylonG for the rest. It looks like he slept in his spacesuit compared to the Rhyno print.

I have a dryer and the nylon has been in it throughout my experiments and trial and started overnight drying before beginning.

0_1561559584806_IMG_1203.JPG 0_1561559602073_IMG_1207.JPG

Not sure where I am going wrong or if I am just wasting my time. I spoke with the supplier but not very helpful, I am glad I didn't start with this material as I would have thrown in the towel a long time ago. PULSE 232 printer with mag print plate system.

Any suggestions?

• MatterHackers

What kind of nylon filament? There are lots of different kinds, and they print in a fairly wide range of temperatures and settings.

• @cope413 It's from a local supplier, https://www.reprapwarehouse.com/collections/nylon/products/nylon-white-175mm

That's all the details I have.

• MatterHackers

@pverdin That's a very broad temp range. Based on the picture, I would recommend starting at 240C - keep all other settings the same (if you're using the NylonX/NylonG profile). Post a picture of that and we can go from there. Also, if you want to just print a small calibration cube, that would be fine, too.

• It might also be the filament and some other print settings. Some Nylons can be tough. Here is what I use to tune in a "mystery Nylon" aka "fishing line" and most other materials that give a problem