Low maintenance, high quality, ultimaker 3?

• I'm looking for a high quality FDM printer that is fairly low maintenance, is this an oxymoron? I got my start around 2 years ago with the E3D BigBox which I assembled myself and learned a lot during the process. The ongoing lesson I have learned the last 2 years is I usually spend more time tuning the printer than printing 🙂

Now that I have a good grounding in this I am looking to step up to another high quality home printer but hopefully one that mainly "just works" and I'm not fiddling with calibration every other print and is preassembled.

Based on the research I have done so far Ultimaker 3 looks like it ticks all of my boxes but I thought before such a big purchase I would try to gather some more feedback. I am also considering the Form 2 but I have no experience with that type of printing and it is more expensive and probably overkill for my home use, though I do envy the precision on small parts.

I print PLA/ABS only, and use it for building models, toys, and small robotics/engineering projects.

• We got at the school an airwolf and a Makerbot Replicator + and I got a pulse. They all got something in common. Occasionally prints fail, Extruders, hotends get jammed and need to be disassembled, cleaned, parts replaced etc. All of them get used a lot as its a school setting and all of them produce nice prints most of the time but all of them need TLC if you want to call it that. Kinda reminds me of copy machines when they came out half a century or so ago. Guess the better question is as to which one is cheapest and easiest to fix and keep running in the long term

• The Pulse is interesting, I was considering that as well since the pricepoint is very appealing.